Pasta Bell-ayyyy!

Post-Workout + Post Pasta Bowl = Crazzayy Hair!

I have a few fun things for ya guy! Yesterday, I ventured out for an over-due trip to the grocery store. I always feel like it is such a journey to get there, I have to take the lightrail (it’s like an above ground subway!) a few stops and then walk about 1/3 of a mile. It isn’t too bad on the way there, it’s the way back with all my goodies! I swear I need to take a picture sometime, it’s hilarious. I have all my stuff smashed into a duffel bag and reusable bags and then set it on top of this mini dolly thing-a-ma-bob that my mom bought for me. I look like a bag lady rollin’ down the street, I cause quite the scene. Many people like to stare or even honk at me when they drive by! Haha

Anywhooo, I’ll give you a summary of some of the goodies I bought.

Fruit:
Kiwi
Banana
Grapes
Vegetables:
Asparagus
Broccoli
Spinach
Carrots
Yams
Bread:
Arnold Sandwich Thins
Flatout Flatbread
Other:
Whole Grain Noodles
Tomato & Basil Pasta Sauce
Turkey Pepperonis
Mozzarella Shredded Cheese
Colby Jack Shredded Cheese
Kashi 7 Whole Grain Waffles
Deli Turkey
Tub of Chobani Greek Yogurt
Sugar-Free Jell-o
Sugar-Free Pudding
Cinnamon Cheerios
Turkey Sausage

I’m sure I’m missing a few things, but they are probably boring anyway! Haha I can’t wait to actually havegood snacks to take to class tomorrow. I mean I was getting sick of eat just a granola bar!

I tried out a super new & yummayyy recipe yesterday that is finger lickin’ good! I wouldn’t exactly call this healthy but it is healither than the original. Good enough for me 😉 It’s fluffy, melt-in-your mouth goodness. I bet your DYING to know what it is…it’s Red Velvet Cake!

EATTT MEEEEEE!

You just need a few simple things: Red Velvet Cake Mix, 1/3 cup apple sauce, three eggs or 1/3 cup egg whites, Free Cool Whip, 8 oz Fat Free Cream Cheese, and 6-9 packets of Truvia (more or less depending on your taste). I know, I know it’s not made from scratch but it tastes just as good!

Directions:
Mix together red velvet cake batter, 1/3 cup apple sauce (in lieu of oil), and eggs. Once you have a smooth batter, pop that baby in the oven. Now onto the delicious frosting. I think this has a little hint of a cheesecake taste in it, but that’s just me! Whip together cool whip, cream cheese, and truvia. Once you get it in a soft, whipped consistency chill it in the fridge until your cake is cooled and ready to be frosted. Voila! You have a healthier version of a decadent favorite.

I baked mine in an 8×8 inch pan and it came out to 16 servings. Each serving came out to 171 calories, 3.5 grams of fat, 4 grams of protein, and 30 carbs. Not so bad, eh??

Look at me, I have 7 whole grains!

So now onto the next topic of the evening…my lunch! For lunch I made two kashi waffles and topped it with cinnamon, a banana, and a tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter. I even gave myself of a little dollop of the fat-free cool whip I had leftover from baking the cake! For a small side I had some grapes. This meal kept me full well over until dinner; I didn’t even need a snack before I hit the gym! The meal rounded out to 400 calories, 14 grams of fat, 10 grams of protein, and 68 carbs. I always thought that I was taking in too many carbs sometimes but I learned in my nutrition class that for my size, weight, and activity level I’m right on target! Woohoo!

Now onto the main event, (*drum roll*) DINNER. I can not get over how delicious my dinner was and how many veggies I managed to jam-pack into it. I made my own pasta bowl with whole grain noodles, steamed broccoli, steamed asparagus, and tomato & basil pasta sauce. I was going to add spinach but I realized I already add a plentiful amount of veggies. It as a dinner that was high in volume, low in calories but not low in nutrients! For one serving (1 cup of noodles, 6-8 asparagus spears, 1 broccoli spear, 1/2 cup sauce) there was 300 calories, 3 grams of fat, 13 grams of protein, and 57 carbs.

Bowl O' Pasta!

For dessert I treated myself to a sugar-free pudding cup (60 calories) with a little bit of cool whip!

Dezzert!

Well, it’s getting late and I need to get my boo-tay into bed so I can wake up for my morning work out! I’ll be posting the work out I did today tomorrow…oh and another recipe I forgot about! I’ll give you a hint it’s green and it rhymes with moothie! 😉 Sweet dreams ❤

One thought on “Pasta Bell-ayyyy!

  1. Pingback: Green, Lean, & Mean (to fat) Machine! | Toning Up With Tori

Leave a Reply

