Feelin’ Blah.

I just wasn’t feel so hot today. My eating schedule has been so weird for me that I find myself eating either hardly anything or huge amounts of food (although my roommate tells me otherwise and says I’m still not eating that much when I think I binge). It has a lot to do with school and work now. On Tuesdays and Thursdays I wake up, go to the gym, head to class for 6 hours, and then work for about 8 hours. It’s hard to fit in decent meals, ya know? Then I get home at night and I just want to go to bed so I try to eat quick or sometimes don’t eat at all. The next day I feel so hungry I want to eat everything in site. Luckily, most of the things I opt for are healthy or somewhat healthy! Tonight for dinner I had a super delicious Kashi All-Natural Pizza. This was defiantly one of the best frozen pizzas I’ve ever had. I highly recommend it! Plus the serving size was very generous (1/3 of the pizza) and only 290 calories, 9 grams of fat, 37 carbs, and 15 grams of protein. It was very nutrient dense and savory. Kashi, you’ve got me hooked!

For the past few days I’ve been wanting to make homemade Sorbet and tonight I finally had time to do it. I used blueberries, strawberries, honey, orange juice, lemon juice, and these homemade smoothie cubes I made a while ago. You can omit the smoothie cubes, they won’t make much of a difference to the taste. It was just basically a pre-blended smoothie that I froze into an ice cube tray for on the go. I’ll have to do a post on it! The sorbet turned out very good, it tastes like a smoothie but has a better texture. I think mine would have been creamier if I added a frozen banana, but I didn’t have any on hand so I omitted that. I recommend adding it if you want a creamier texture. I can’t wait to try different versions of it, like kiwi-strawberry or mango-peach! Yummmayyy!

Pre-Frozen

Homemade Sorbet:

1/2 cup Orange Juice

6 tbsp Honey or Agave Nectar (I used honey)

2 cups blue berries

2 cups chunk frozen banana

2 tbsp lemon juice

Directions: Dissolve orange juice and honey together on a sauce pan. Then allow it to cool off. Add all ingredients together in a blender, pour into a container and freeze for a few hours.

Serving Size: 1/2 cup
Calories- 110 Fat- 0.3  Protein- 0.9 Carbs-29

See, super easy and you can modify it all you want to make it healthier or more decadent! You control the ingredients (:

Leave a Reply

