Mmmm, Breakfast.

So lately, I don’t know why but I’ve been craving Breakfast foods. Sweet, salt, savory, you name it and its probably been on my mind the past few days. Last night I wondered into my dorm kitchen to make my Dinner, er well Breakfast I guess you could say. I created a healthy recipe of French Toast. By created I mean substitute all the bad things for good (;

Ingredients:

French Toast:

  • Multi-grain Bread
  • Egg Whites or Egg Beater

Topping:

  • Banana
  • Strawberry
  • Reduced Fat Peanut Butter
  • Ground Flax Seed
  • Cinnamon

In a bowl, I mixed up my egg whites with a plentiful amount of cinnamon. This gives the toast a very warm flavor. For the topping, I mashed half a banana and added one tablespoon of peanut butter to the mixture. After I got it to a smooth consistency I mixed in ground flax seed and cinnamon. I spread it on top of my toast and added a few strawberries. I have to say, it defiantly satisfied my craving for french toast, it was purrrfeccct!

The Nutrition (1 Piece French Toast w/ 2-3 tbsp Topping):
Calories-34
Fat-2 grams
Protein-1 gram
Carbs-5

Tonight for din din I had a Healthy Breakfast Burrito with a side of fruit salad! I just don’t get what’s with all the crazy breakfast cravings. Hm, I’m just gonna blame it on my crazy hormones. My fruit salad had cantaloupe, grapes, blueberries, and a mcintosh apple. To tie in all the flavors (and keep the apple from browning) I added a dash of lemon juice! Now onto the main event…

Healthy Breakfast Burrito

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 Morning Star Grillers Recipe Crumbles (you can substitute this with an type of lean sausage)
  • Multi-Gran Tortilla
  • Egg Whites or Egg Beater
  • Half Potato
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • Salsa (you can do any kind mild, medium, etc)

*Did you know that eating spicy foods revs up your metabolism and helps you eat less??? (:

I heated up my morning star crumbles in a pan and added salt and pepper to taste. Then diced my potatoes and put it on another pan with a little bit of water (to keep them from getting too dry) and put a lid on it. I cooked these guys until they turned a nice golden brown color. Next I scrambled my egg whites and added around 1-1 1/2 tbsp cheese. Now time to assemble! I topped all the goodies with a slight bit of salsa and then wrapped up my burro. My oh my, I was in love.

Pin It

The Nutrition:
Calories-332
Fat-7.5 grams
Protein-20 grams
Carbs-36

Hope you all enjoy the recipes as much as I did! I’ll post my crazy workout I did later (:

Question of the day: What’s your favorite type of food: Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner??

Leave a Reply

